Skip to content

Allan (Al) Heinicke Memorial Service Award

The following was written in part by Mike Dawes, former chief negotiator for UWOFA and a colleague of Al’s.

Sometimes, we are fortunate enough to meet an individual who changes the way we think about our work and influences our future. Sometimes, a colleague has the intelligence and vision to lead us down new paths. As a mathematician, teacher and leader of the UWO Faculty Association, Allan Heinicke was such a man.

Professor Heinicke enjoyed a diverse and fulfilling academic career beginning with his studies at the University of Manitoba. After he completed his PhD at the University of British Columbia in 1969, he joined the Department of Mathematics at Western. He was named professor emeritus in 2005 after 36 years of distinguished service.

For many years, Al contributed to the inner workings of the university in a variety of capacities: chair and president of the Faculty Association, member of Senate committees and subcommittees, member of the Board of Governors, and frequent contributor of service on departmental and faculty committees. Perhaps Al will be most vividly remembered for his brilliant analyses of the financial workings of the university – of trends and patterns of faculty compensation and benefits in Ontario and Canadian universities. Current Faculty Association salary and benefit policies bear his unmistakable stamp.

In 2003, the Canadian Association of University Teachers honoured Al’s outstanding work and commitment to colleagues and the profession with its Dedicated Service Award, given in recognition of exceptional service to academic staff associations.

Al’s uncompromising integrity was universally trusted and respected throughout the academy. His research papers were judged fundamental by leaders in the field. He was a dedicated and thoughtful teacher known for his meticulous preparation of materials for his students.

Our Tribute

Sadly, Al Heinicke passed away in December 2007. To commemorate Al’s extraordinary contributions, the Faculty Association established the Allan Heinicke Memorial Service Award as a lasting tribute to his accomplishments and dedication to Western and the Faculty Association. The award is handed out every other year.

 List of Recipients

Stephen Pitel (Law) – 2021

Dan Belliveau (Health Studies) – 2019

Marjorie Ratcliffe (Modern Languages and Literatures) – 2017

Ann Bigelow (Management and Organizational Studies) – 2015

Jim Davies (Economics) – 2013