Skip to content

Tom Murphy Memorial Award 

The Tom Murphy Memorial Award for Outstanding Service to UWOFA was established in honour of the late Tom Murphy. Tom was a long-standing contract faculty member in the Department of Sociology who was involved in UWOFA since certification in 1998, serving as a director on the Board for four terms, as a member of the Executive Committee, and as a regular member of the Policy and Governance Committee. Tom also served UWOFA in numerous other ways, most notably as UWOFA’s representative on the Parking Appeals Committee. Perhaps most important, however, Tom was a long-standing member and co-chair of the Committee for Contract Faculty. Tom died on July 18, 2015. This award was established by UWOFA as a lasting tribute to his accomplishments and dedication to UWOFA.

All contract faculty members of UWOFA are eligible for this award. Contract faculty includes full-time members with a limited-term appointment and part-time members with a limited-duties appointment or a standing appointment.

All members of UWOFA are eligible to nominate contract members for this award. Members must use the form provided for their nominations. Recipients will be selected by the executive committee based on outstanding contributions to the Association either through a single project or activity or the accumulation of efforts over a long period of time. Recipients may choose to receive the award in the form of a cash payout or a fund that can be used to advance the academic career of the recipient by supporting items such as research, travel, equipment or professional development.

 List of Recipients

Tess Hooks (Sociology) – 2021 (special Tom Murphy Memorial Award)

Nigmendra Narain (Political Science) – 2020

Jamie Johnston (English and Writing Studies) – 2018

Kathleen Fraser (English and Writing Studies) – 2016